top of page

SVQ 2 Social Services and Healthcare at SCQF Level 6


SVQ 2 Social Services & Healthcare SCQF Level 6


The SVQ 2 Social Services and Healthcare at SCQF Level 6 is a work-based qualification and is ideal for anyone working in the health and social care sector. It has been designed in partnership with the Sector Skills Council, Skills for Care and Development to ensure relevance to the sector.

The SVQ Level 2 in Health and Social Care / SVQ 2 Social Services and Healthcare is the benchmark practice qualification for a worker in a Care at Home Service.

SVQ 2 Social Services and Healthcare at SCQF Level 6 Overview

The course is ideal for people, working in a health and social care setting, for example within an adult residential or day-care setting, who are looking to gain a formal qualification.  The course is designed for learners who work in very practical hands-on care and/or support tasks, and are usually fully supervised in their day-to-day work 

What will I study?

Mandatory Units

You will complete four mandatory units, which are the same for every candidate regardless of whether they work in a residential setting, care at home setting or supported living services and regardless of the type of service, such as care of the elderly, support for mental ill-health, learning disability.

These units reflect core values and ethics which are expected to be demonstrated by every worker. 

  • Support Effective Communication 

  • Support the Health and safety of Yourself and Individuals 

  • Develop your Own Knowledge and Practice 

  • Support the Safeguarding of Individuals


Optional Units

You will select two optional units from a wide range. Your assessor can  help you choose, based upon your work setting and your role.


There is a wide range of optional units.  You will be guided by your assessor to select the optional units based on your work setting and their role.

Options include

  • Support individuals to participate in recreational activities

  • Support individuals during therapy sessions

  • Uphold the rights of individuals 

Can I study individual units?

Yes, of course you can. It’s a great way to update Continuing Professional Development (CPD) plans, as you can evidence competence in a new role. 

How will I be assessed?

To gain the SVQ 2 Social Services and Healthcare at SCQF Level 6 you will complete 4 mandatory and 2 optional units.  

Assessment will be in the form of reflective accounts which evidence your knowledge, and practical and observed assignments.  

Your assessor provides constructive feedback every time evidence is submitted by a candidate, and you will work together to formulate plans providing clear direction for the assignment.

Your assessor confirms achievement when all evidence requirements are fully met and then the portfolio of evidence is verified at the assessment centre. This is a mandatory quality assurance process determined by the awarding body, SQA.

Are there any limits for assessment?

No, assessment is formative, which means, ongoing until the requirements are fully satisfied. There is no limit to the number of times evidence is assessed and no set number of pieces of evidence required.

What support will I receive?

Supportive Solutions will fully support you throughout the course. You will be allocated a dedicated assessor, who will be your main point of contact throughout the course.  Your assessor will support you in building your portfolio of evidence to demonstrate your knowledge and competence.

At your induction meeting, your assessor will spend time with you to go through the course requirements and outline the steps you will need to take.  You’ll be provided with an induction booklet, that acts as an additional point of guidance. Your assessor will chat with you about study skills and provide advice on assessment techniques. 

We’ll work with you to make sure you get the most out of your vocational training.  Through undertaking an SVQ, you’ll gain an understanding of what areas of your job you do really well, and what areas may require a little more thought. 

You’ll be allocated a dedicated assessor, who will guide you through the requirements and will be set a timetable of meetings, that can be face to face or virtual.  You’ll have an induction session and be provided with an induction booklet, that outlines the course and provides extra information and handy hints and tips for successfully completing the course.

Entry requirements

SVQ 2 Social Services and Healthcare at SCQF Level 6

You need meet the following criteria:

  • Employed within the in Health and Social Care Setting

  • Minimum of 6 months experience within the Health and Social Care Sector

  • Support of a manager to undertake the award

  • There are no formal academic requirements

Unsure if you meet the entry criteria, or if the course is right for you?


On successful completion of this course, you will achieve a recognised, fully accredited qualification SVQ 2 Social Services and Healthcare at SCQF Level 6.

You’ll be able to register with the Scottish Social Services Council (SSSC) as a practitioner, working with adults in social service, social care, or a healthcare setting.

SVQ 2 Social Services and Healthcare at SCQF Level 6 is ideal if you want to progress to an SVQ 3 Social Services and Healthcare at SCQF level 7.

SVQ 2 Social Services & Healthcare Level 6  £ 1050.00

Single module option £225.00

All pricing excludes VAT


Download an application form

bottom of page